Chelsea lose on penalties in the WICC semi-final

Chelsea lose to Lyon on penalties during the Womens International Champions Cup

Chelsea has been beaten on penalties by Lyon, allowing the French side to slide into the final of the Women’s International Champions Cup.

The first of four Women’s International Champions Cup (WICC) fixtures saw Olympique Lyonnais Feminin facing up against Chelsea F. C. Women in Portland, Oregon.

The last time these two teams met was actually three years ago. The most recent head-to-head took place in the 2019 Champions League semi-final, where Chelsea was narrowly defeated 3-2 on aggregate.

However, just eight minutes into their 2022 WICC meeting at Providence Park, Chelsea’s Sam Kerr attempted to break the streak by scoring the opening goal.

Midfielder Erin Cuthbert played a perfect ball, allowing Kerr to chip it over the head of Lyon goalkeeper, Christiane Endler and thus seeing Chelsea take an early lead.

In the 50th, 20-year-old Chelsea forward Lauren James scored from the box.

However, Lyon scored even with two late goals. Linsey Horan, who is on loan from hosts Portland Thorns, scored in the 76th with a free kick. The WICC equaliser was added by Signe Bruun in the 88th.

After the 90-minute whistle, the match went straight to penalties due to the 2-2 draw.

Eve Perisset, Annie Nouwen and Kadeisha Buchanan all scored penalties for Chelsea while Cutherbert and Millie Bright’s attempts went amiss.

Lyon scored four penalties with Melvine Malard, Signe Bruun, Janice Cayman and Ines Benyahia all finding their mark past Chelsea goalkeeper, Zecira Musovic. Only Horan’s attempt failed to hit the target.

Sonia Bompastor’s side will now go on to face Mexican side C. F. Monterrey in the final of the WICC on Saturday 20 August.

This fixture comes after Monterrey beat the home side, Portland Thorns, 3-2 with penalties. The latter will now play Chelsea in a third and fourth place decider on Saturday 20 August.

The WICC is an annual friendly tournament of women’s association football.

The fourth edition features: 2021 NWSL Shield and 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup winners, Portland Thorns alongside 2021-2022 Liga MX winners, Monterrey, 2021-2022 UEFA Women’s Champions League and 2021-22 Division 1 Feminine winners Lyon and 2021-22 FA WSL and 2021-22 Women’s FA Cup winners, Chelsea.

Feature image credit: WICC/Chelsea F. C. Womens

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.